Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been learning all I could about loading 9mm for a couple of months now, from this site and my lyman's and a few messages to fred. (Thanks fred)
I loaded up the most nervous 11 rounds I have ever shot, even more nervous than the first time I ever shot my xdm. Everything went well so I made a minor tweak to my recipe and loaded up 50 more, then 100. Everything appears to be of to a good start. The only thing I have noticed is a few and I mean maybe 5 small bits of powder left in the barrel after shooting each round. They don't accumulate, always just a few bits. I am loading 5.3 gr of Power Pistol under a 124 gr FMJ. The rounds appear to function perfectly. No FTE's, no FTF's no KB, no squibs, every one has cycled and shot without a hitch or hiccup. All the spent cases and primers appear normal. Is the powder in the barrel a problem? I know PP is on the medium to slow side, as far as burn rate maybe that is the reason?
Also I was just wondering how many rounds some of the rest of you test fire before going all out on a new recipe? I have about 1500 cases to do and enough components for about 800 of those and I would like to get loading. I just need a bunch of plinking ammo so working up the perfect load at this point doesn't concern me I just need safe and reliable.
One more question, and maybe my dumbest yet, I purposely set up my press so that a double charged case is basically impossible to do. But a case with no powder at all is pretty easy to accomplish. Will the force of a primer and no powder cause a squib? I can't imagine it would but, I am guessing that I have a better chance surviving a load a little too hot with all my digits in tact than, shooting the next bullet into a barrel obstruction.

·
Registered
968 Posts
Most slower powders will not give a complete burn unless loaded toward the upper end of the data.