Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to reload some 9mm using 124 gr Hornady XTP jhp's, i cant decide how many grains i should put in them. If i use

7.3 grains of blue dot = 1150 ft/s 365 ft/lbs at muzzle
7.1 grains of blue dot = 1100 ft/s 330 ft/lbs at muzzle

Im new at this, how much should i use??, the max is at 9.0 grains of blue dot. Is the 7.3 grain specs ok to shoot?? or are they too hott??? any input would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
10,955 Posts
If 9 grains is the published max load then why would 7.3 be too hot? Its always smart to start 15%-20% below the max and work your way up SLOWLY to wherever you decide to go with the load. I personaly do not use Herculese powders, I prefer Hodgens and VV powders, although I used to use IMR a few times with good results. Get a load book and read read read read read....

Reloading is a fun hobby and allows you to taylor your loads to your own preferances but you have to do so with caution, one double charge or too big of a charge, or wrong powder and you will be buying a new gun and possibly dealing with injuries. Never exceed published loads and you should learn the signs of excessive pressures. a good resource for reloading is http://www.handloads.com/

Good luck and stay safe.

·
Registered
435 Posts
I run most of my 124 grain loads at 1050fps myself. Very comfortable

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
correction I said that the max was 9 gr of blue dot. It is 7.9 Gr.

I also did some research from data off of midway of some factory 124gr loads.
Remington Golden Saber 9mm Luger +P 124 Grain =
Muzzle Velocity: 1180 fps
Muzzle Energy: 384 ft. lbs

Speer Gold Dot 9mm + P 124gr jhp =
Muzzle Velocity: 1150 fps
Muzzle Energy: 367 ft. lbs.

Speer Gold 9mm 124 gr. jhp =
Muzzle velocity: 1150 fps
Muzzle energy: 327 ft/lb

Magtech Guardian Gold 9mm Luger 124 Gr. jhp =
Muzzle Velocity: 1096 fps
Muzzle Energy: 331 ft-lbs