Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all...

I am new to reloading and have put together an RCBS kit to help me on my way...
I am interested im loading for my XD40 Tactical.
I shoot IDPA, IPSC, USPSA, an 3gun...
ESP, Production, and Limited (10)

I have more than enough brass, Winchester WSP primers, and PrecisionBullets 155gr projectiles.

I would like to load for both major and minor power.
I hve found a few 180-200gr recipes but nothing lighter...
Can anyone help with a recipe???

Thanks in advance to all .....

·
Registered
10,955 Posts
check the Brian Enos forum, tons of info there. By the way, from my own experimentation as well as ALOT of others I shoot with, the heavier bullets will yield less percieved recoil. Might want to consider the 180's.
Another thing to note, I and several others have had misfires with Winchester primers, I switched to Federal and havent had another problem, they are aso the softest on the market so no chance of a light strike either.

When I say misfires I mean maybe 1 or 2 out of 1000-2000, which if your in a big match is one to many!

·
Registered
401 Posts
Try 4.5 grains of Hodgdon's Universal for minor PF. I don't have a load that makes major, but I'd wager it would be around 5.5 grains of Universal.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the great info... now here comes another question....

What is a good OAL for them... WWB comes in at 1.23 - 1.25...

I have seen examples of 1.13 - 1.16... any suggestions...

·
Registered
401 Posts
I like to load mine on the long side. The XD is supposed to be more reliable with rounds that are loaded near the limit of COAL.

·
Registered
2,244 Posts
Sir_William said:
Thanks for the great info... now here comes another question....

What is a good OAL for them... WWB comes in at 1.23 - 1.25...

I have seen examples of 1.13 - 1.16... any suggestions...