Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,540 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright I need some help understanding the difference in the way you aim with both. I am new to using anything but irons so this may be a stupid question. It seems like with the Holo that once you zero the sight anyone could pick up and shoot dead on but with a RedDot how you look through the sight will matter. Is this true? I know when shooting Iron sights you want to keep your cheek in the same place when you shoot to keep the shots right on so zeroed for one person will not work for someone else.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Nope once the reddot/holographic is zeroed you'll be on target as long as you can see the dot. You can even shoot with both eyes open its actually recommended and I find it easier that way

·
Registered
224 Posts
I run an eotech xps 2-2 on mine love it, as long as you can see the reticle you can hit the target

·
Premium Member
4,971 Posts
I have a Barska multi reticle electro (red dot) sight on my Sig 556. Once I got it sighted in, anywhere I placed the dot I hit.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Check out the Vortex Strikefire. Best quality/price combination on the market.

·
Registered
1,540 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ok sweet. So one is really no better than the other. Just personal preference. And once you sight one it's easy point and shoot. Thanks for the clear up.

·
Registered
403 Posts
Ok sweet. So one is really no better than the other. Just personal preference. And once you sight one it's easy point and shoot. Thanks for the clear up.
The main difference is that with holographic you can get a reticle whereas with red dots you just get a dot. Whether that matters or not is up to you.

·
Registered
261 Posts
What IS the difference between the two? I mean you have the various sights, ACOG, EOTech, Aimpoint, etc. Are they all red dot, holographic, combo?