Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
BTW, I was shooting my normal range ammo, Sellier & Bellot 180 gr FMJ. Also, the gun was perfectly clean when I started shooting today. In addition, at the start of today my XDm had operated flawlessly for a total of 300 rounds. However, that was with the magazine that I have labeled as # 2.

It happened within the first 50 rounds and it was magazine related. In the past I have kept my # 1 magazine loaded with home defense rounds and take the # 2 magazine to the range. I picked up an additional 4 magazines last weekend so today I took both # 1 and # 2 to the range today. Because I hadn't actually cycled the # 1 magazine I decided to shoot with it today at the range. For the first 15 rounds the magazine functioned perfectly. However, on the second 10 round load I had an SP with 2 rounds left in the magazine. The round was trapped between the breech face in the feed ramp on the barrel pointing up. I dropped the magazine, cleared the gun and looked at the problem round closely and didn't see any visual defect so reloaded it and finshed off that magazine. The next batch of 10 ran perfectly. Then on the 4th magazine load, I had an issue where the slide didn't close completely, pulled the trigger and nothing, not even a click. Dropped the magazine, cleared the round from the chamber and looked for some reason why the slide didn't close, absolutely to clue at all, no dents bulges or anything visual, it looked factory fresh. So, I loaded it back into the magazine and on the 9th round out of 10 had another SP identical to the first. At which point I put magazine #1 in the case and loaded up magazine #2. Which ran flawlessly for the next 110 rounds thru the gun.