Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

I just spent my first day at the range shooting my first gun, my brand new XD-40 sub compact, and have some questions, since I am just learning everything and want to know as much as I can about what to expect. It's obvious that there is no room for error in this business!

The gun is amazing, very powerful, and since it was my first time, I spent so much energy concentrating on doing all the right things, that I got worn out pretty fast. I'm sure as time goes on I will learn to relax more and breathe.

But I have some questions regarding FTFs and jams, as I am not completely clear on how to deal with them.

If an FTF occurs, I understand I should keep the gun on the target for about 30 seconds, and then if the round hasn't gone off, eject it, correct? So am I to assume that the slide is still closed as the bullet has not gone off? Do I remove the magazine, and then open the slide and let the bullet fall down through to the ground? I was thinking I would just kick it down range, is that a good idea? I can't imagine putting the bullet in my hand to deal with it, and have it go off while I am holding it. Maybe someone can give me some advice on this one...

And then I am unclear of what to expect regarding a jam. If a bullet jams while in the middle of shooting, does the slide not close all the way? Obviously it stops firing, but I need for someone to explain how you know you have a jam, and how to fix it safely. Thanks!

·
Registered
165 Posts
Great Question!