Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, im new to handguns in general, and to the boards, and was just wondering if anyone could answer a question I have.

I want to purchase a .40 Caliber Springfield XD Service Model when I turn 21 in a few weeks, but I need some advice.

Ive read around a lot, and found a lot of information on these guns, and held one at the range (not yet fired one though) and I fell in love with it once I had it in my hands. Ive read about the whole slide problem, and have decided that the Stainless Steel slide might be a good idea. I was also reading around, and decided that the Ported Barrel model would be a good investment.

Now heres my question: I have not seen a Ported Barrel model with the stainless steel slide. Do they exist? If not, which would everyone prefer? The Stainless Steel slide, or a Ported Barrel? Id like to have an XD with both, but I dont think they make them. Is there anyway to polish a slide from a Ported Barrel model? If so, how much would this cost?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
It depends what you want... If you just want a plinker.. you can knock down a bowling pin from 15 yards no problemo'!!! (ask TASF... He's a pretty good shot!!) I don't think a ported barrel is much help myselsf.. but I am not a very good shot. I am doing good to hit COM at 15 yards.. that's good enough for me....'

Raymond

·
Registered
889 Posts
I wouldn't get the ported one either, the XD dosen't have that much recoil to start with, and I don't think a ported barrel has any real advantage unless you'er shooting something like a .357 mag, .44 mag, or an IPSC open gun. I'm just not real crazy having flames shooting up in front of my face, especially in low light, or no light shooting.

·
Premium Member
3,955 Posts
Stainless slide = good choice
Ported gun = most of what I remember on posts on this site is that they would do without if they were doing it over.

Happy 21st!

·