Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. This is my first post. I'm very new to concealed carry and am educating myself every way I can.

It seems to me that an IWB holster would work best for me (I was considering a SOB holster, but there seem to be many risks involved). Which would any of you recommend? I was checking out the Galco Skyops. I look forward to learning from your experienced opinions.

·
Registered
678 Posts
I went through many different holsters and ended up with a OWB Old World Leather holster with a thumb break, the holster can go at 3:00 or can slide around to 4/5 if you want to go towards the back.

A good leather holster will keep your XD nice and tight to your torso and will do wonders for conceal.

Try many out, I went to Fin Feather and Fur they have tons of holsters and basically tried them all out.

Good Luck,

- T

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
Check out http://www.gunnersalley.com/

Those guys are great to buy from.

Personally, I have not had much luck with leather holsters. I prefer Kydex. The FIST #1 in ultra-thin Kydex is what I wear for daily carry.. for both my XD, and the Taurus 85.

My biggest problem with the leather holsters has been with re-holstering. The mouth of the holster contracts just a bit.. and that little finger rest on the XD's gaurd get's hung up.. I have no such issue with the FIST holster.

The Comp-Tak CTAC seems to a very popular choice around here.. I do not own one, but I have read dozens of positive posts by members here.. and I believe you can get it in KYDEX if you prefer..

Good luck..

Raymond

·
Registered
3,473 Posts

·
Registered
3,473 Posts

·
Registered
678 Posts
Captain Ray said:
Check out http://www.gunnersalley.com/

Those guys are great to buy from.

Personally, I have not had much luck with leather holsters. I prefer Kydex. The FIST #1 in ultra-thin Kydex is what I wear for daily carry.. for both my XD, and the Taurus 85.