Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We're looking at getting started on our prepping; nothing crazy, but enough food, water, light, and essentials for up to a couple months of grid failure. My issue with water is this: we don't really have a good set up for being able to store whole barrels of water, but we could do 5- or 6-gallon bottles or jerry cans pretty easily. Do you get distilled or purified for better storage life? I hear distilled stays good longer, but you need to add a mineral supplement or it starts to leach minerals out of your body over long-term consumption. Also not sure about how safe it is to leave water in plastic long-term. Is there gradual contamination of the water with the compounds in the bottles? Any other ways to approach this issue? I'm new to this, so bear with me.

·
Premium Member
3,834 Posts
If you store your drinking water before the SHTF, (stuff hits the fan) and you are getting it from existing safe water infrastructure like from the kitchen tap, then probably you are good to go without doing anything. Just use the aforementioned excellent choice USGI or NATO Jerry cans, fill them up, store them someplace cool and dry, (outside rust) and just forget about them for up to several YEARS.

Being kept cool and temperature stable and without sunlight, most if not all of the bad stuff, (if any) will die off over time. It will not multiply. No energy source, (sunlight) nor a food supply. (clean safe water to start with) Water under such conditions does not wear out or become out of date, it will last a very long time. If you think it is necessary, just a couple of drops of bleach per gallon may be added.