Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our department (Large, Slow, Bureaucratic Machine) just added the XDM 4.5 .40S&W to our approved handgun list. Being skeptical I waited awhile and rented one... Needless to say me and several of my colleagues traded a couple of guns promptly and bought the XDM 4.5 to carry on duty. I am new to the XD(M) world.

The problem:
I have been searching for sights that utilize the entire area from the rear sight dovetail to the back of the slide. My preferred night sight on my Glock 22 .40S&W was Warren Tactical with the strait eight configuration. The Warren Tactical sight made use of the entire area from the rear of dovetail all the way to the back of the rear of the slide. The stock Springfield sights do the exact same thing adding more sight radius (One of the reasons I went to the XDM 4.5). I just bought some Heine Ledge Strait Eights (Part number: 3685 w/tritium) but when I received them I found out they shorten the sight radius.

Questions:
Is the distance between the rear of the dovetail to the end of the slide the same distance between the XD and the XDM?

Who makes hard use (Duty Use) night sights that utilize the entire distance (Giving more sight radius) and have a strait Eight configuration?
(willing to shoot a three dot system if I must... but, prefer Strait Eight with different color vials or the rear diminished)

Thanks In Advanced!

·
Registered
8,632 Posts
I'm a fan of trijicon. I was issued my weapon in 2007. A glock 22, purchased by the department in 2000. I'm finally getting the sights replaced because they are fading...11 years later. They've been plenty durable for me. They are, however, the 3 dot system.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·