Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Will I ever realistically notice the difference between 7 strand 2 ply cord and the 8 strand they are selling now? For shelters wouldn't my stakes come out of the ground long before either of the paracord types broke? Where would the extra strands and ply matter?

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
I have no first hand knowledge of the proposed question but I do know that regular old 550 cord is damn near impossible to break. I guess you could use the extra strand in a survival situation. Trapping and building. Don't think on it to much. Its just string.

·
Registered
4,249 Posts
You probably wouldn't notice a difference. Where the difference would come in is if ever in an emergency/survival situation where each strand would matter. The cord I carry when camping/hiking is true mil-spec 550 (MIL-C-5040h & PIA-C-5040 Type 3) in case things go bad.

The 550 is supposed to mean that it can support 550 pounds, but I've read of commercial grade 550 cord only supporting around 325 pounds so there's obviously a difference. I carry mil-spec 750 (Type 4) for hiking where there's an overnight stay.

If you're only using it for staking tents and whatnot, then probably no difference.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So, purchase 100' of the higher strand paracord for your bag and it would all be covered?

Would it be wise to go with a bright color to distinguish it from my commercial cord?

·
Registered
8,278 Posts
Atwood Paracord only makes 7-Strand actual 550 cord...all US Company...buy direct from them and avoid the scAmazon knock-offs...I sell 1,000s of feet of the stuff in a years' time...our in-store price is $8.95/100'...

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What is the difference? 2 ply vs 3 or just the color strand in the middle? It's $11 on the Atwood site.

·
Registered
8,278 Posts
:mad: