Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was looking at the photoshop xd thread and got curious about painting the polymer frame. Anybody know if it can be done.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Just a though. I've always like the look of the S&W ladysmith. White frame and stainless slide. I guess I'll have to by a ladysmith uh for the wife of course. :)

·
Registered
875 Posts
There has to be a way to paint it, but I am no expert. Body shops paint plastic parts all the time so it has to be possible.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Well, if we are talkinf about the methods of painting plastics like in a body shop, you would just need a can of flex-added spray primer, a can of flex added paint, and a can of flex-added clear coat. That would give you a really durable and forgiving finish on most plastic items, the primer being the real key. The problem lies in that there are no automotive paints that I know of that could hold up to the friction they would get from the cycling slide. not to mention it would take up to 30 days before the paint was totally cured.

Just did a bunch of paint work myself, so I spent a lot of research time on it.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Banned
11,479 Posts
You should know that the color in extruded plastic's is applied at the time the part is made. It's that color all the way thru. All you can do is apply a surface coat. Not good.

·
Registered
4,801 Posts
one-eyed-fatman said:
You should know that the color in extruded plastic's is applied at the time the part is made. It's that color all the way thru. All you can do is apply a surface coat. Not good.
Agreed.