Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I have been doing research now for the past 4-5 months on a XDM purchase. I am set on a .40 cal. full frame (hands to big for the compact). My problem lies in which barrel lenth to get. I will be "CARRING" it and to also be a "RANGE" gun. Hoping that I will never have to use it for personal protection but just to be safe. I am trying to decide between the 3.8 and the 4.5 barel. There is no store in my srea that has the 3.8 to rent. I am hoping for some feedback in how the two differ from eachother on both performance and acuracy. ANY help in this sit. would be greatly appreciated. Thank you to all those who help in advance!!!
:D

·
Registered
748 Posts
Since this gun may eventually be carried, I'd get the XDM-40 3.8 compact. Actually, that's what I would have bought, if the compact had been available. When used as a range gun, accuracy probably won't be as accurate as the 4.5, but I'd rather compromise on the range gun aspects than the defensive points.

The grip on the standard XDM is 'plenty' long. The 16 rd. magazines in the compact are the same size as my full grip. There are pinky extensions available for the 13 round magazines that may help with your large grip.

As a carry gun, you'll be shooting in a defensive mode. Your hand size won't much matter, panic will take care of that.

·
Registered
754 Posts
In my opinion I like the 4.5. It will do it all. If I ever decide to carry, which I probably will not, then I would love the SA EMP 40. It cost a whole lot more, but something implanted on my hip for long durations, which is lethal, is well worth the money. If you want cheaper, then check out the XDsc, Sig P238, or mini rocket launcher. Many companies will sell you an EMP on layaway. I am very tempted, then I dream about the release of the XDm 45 compact. I want it, so I am saving my pennies.

·
Registered
1,896 Posts