Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was watching a vid on YouTube about how to clean my XDM and the guy said not to put oil on the barrel after cleaning it. I’m new to handguns in general but this did not make sense to me. I know the barrel comes in contact with other parts of the gun, especially the breach area. Is this guy correct or should I put a light coat of gun oil on the barrel for lubrication purposes?

·
Premium Member
3,565 Posts
I used to oil the barrel but now I only oil the outside where it comes in contact with the slide. What I've noticed over the last year is that when I carry even a light coat of oil inside the barren tends to collect dust and lint. I only oil the inside when I'm storing it for awhile.

·
Registered
913 Posts
I used to oil the barrel but now I only oil the outside where it comes in contact with the slide. What I've noticed over the last year is that when I carry even a light coat of oil inside the barren tends to collect dust and lint.
Yeah I should have mentioned that...I just leave the outside oiled...oil on the inside only creates more of a mess...

·
Registered
857 Posts
Oil on the outside only cleaned mine a few hours ago and di this she still rns great. F##% Federal JHP regulars though only round to jam in my XD in almost a thousand rounds. FTF 10 out of 50 bullets WTF!!! I about trusted me and my families safety on these thankfully I forked over the dough to test a box. Sorry for the threadack.

·
Registered
5,617 Posts
I always oil the inside of the barrel...you don't need much, though.

After every shoot I run a boresnake through it, with cleaner up front and a bit of oil at the end. Puts just enough on the barrel to keep it protected. Haven't noticed any extra crud building up.

For a detail clean I oil liberally, then finish off with a boresnake, as per above. If I'm storing it, I leave a liberal amount of oil on all parts of the barrel (and rest of gun).

·