Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Everyone, a Noob to the forum here and a noob to habitual pistol shooting. Other than that Here's the quick intro:

Ive been shooting long guns since I was about 4ish (bb's of course) and hunting since I was 13.

Im more than moderately competent as a long gun/shotgun shooter and I have been reloading for about 5 years now, just getting into BPCR reloading as well!

Anyway I just recently got my first pistol, an XD-40SC (I have shot many a pistol in my day, this one is the first that belongs to me :)

I have started by getting used to this pistol by using the short mag and WWB 160-gr fmj's a la wallyworld.

I have only fired about 600 rounds through this unit and it has jammed on me 4 times, however after poking around this forum I am going to double check that my thumb is not causing problems!

Finally cutting to the chase here I noticed that the spent cases coming out of the gun have very interesting firing pin impressions, the pin appears to drag down the face of the primer after it has buried itself into the primer, take a look for yourself I have 2 pics:

Image 1
Image 2

This is way more severe than anything I have ever seen in books or online so it has me a little worried. The first one that came with the gun is printed identically. Has anyone seen this in their XD's? It's like the pin does not retract fast enough. Should I send it back to SA..?

Also my XD-40SC's slide release is damn near impossible to flip down releasing the locked slide, at first I thought it was me, but then I gave it to a few other club members to try out and they all agree it's pretty brutal, not sure if it is going to loosen up. Any SC owners experiencing this?

My Dad has a XD-9 service model bi-tone and the slide release is nice and easy to release under tension.

Sorry for the long post, I know that's no way to make friends haha.

·
Premium Member
2,741 Posts