Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been carrying for almost 3 months now and I dont even notice my gun anymore. I love my crossbreed holster (thanks mark!) and I still love my XDM but I'm having a hard time getting comfortable carrying one in the chamber. Even at home when I have it bedside, I dont have one in there. I dont have kids around so thats not an issue. Just knowing there is one in there makes me uneasy. Whenever I have on in the chamber, I'm ready to fire and have the gun down range.

Any words of advice to get comfortable with carrying one in the pipe would be great. Also, is it even necessary to carry one in the chamber? I know some people think that a gun without one ready is an unloaded gun. Just curious on other people's thoughts and suggestions for someone who carries on a daily basis.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
4,437 Posts
some do some dont. I do, IF you ever need to draw your weapon when every second counts, do you have time to rack the slide? do you have time to get a good sight picture? Thats not always the case in some scenarios. Again, I do carry hot and lots do and theres ppl that dont carry hot.

·
Registered
6,595 Posts
Here we go again

Popcorn engaged

I'm not going to go back and forth about whether you should or not, my chamber is always loaded , period, end of story.

Only thing I can suggest is to cock the gun on an empty chamber, then insert mag. Carry that way till you figure out the gun had not fired on its own. Really it should only take a day or two to convince you carrying with one in the pipe with an XD is perfectly safe

Follow the four rules and life willl be fine

·
Registered
403 Posts