Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I just turned 21 and for my birthday I went out and bought myself my first handgun. I had a few in mind including G17, P99, or a XD-9. Obviously I went with the later thats why I'm posting here. I purchased a XD-9 service with blue finish. I have a few really silly questions:

1. Rust? I have heard several complaints around the internet about these guns rusting. I do live in a pretty humid area and was wonder what the best way was to prevent rust on my gun (it is a blue finish not stainless).

2. Finish on the slide... How tuff is the finish on the slide? Like what type of brushes/cleaners can I use on it? I'm new to cleaning finished slides and I hear a lot of talk about people sending them in to get refinished.

3. Slide lock/release? And this has to be the newbest question of them all, when I lock the slide back and hit the slide release button I find it sorta hard to push down. I guess this is because this is "my" first semi-auto and I don't have tuff thumbs yet. Now the question is, when I put in an empty magazine and push the slide release down it seems near impossible. Is this by design? I can do it when I have bullets in it, but when the mag is empty it is really hard, and even when I pull the slide back the slide relaease button does not snap down. What is the relation between the magazine and the slide release button?

Thanks,
Rzeig

·
Registered
347 Posts
1) I like Armadillo by Blue Wonder for rust prevention, plus, with several layers of it you also prevent some levels of holster wear. :) Check out www.pistol-gear.com for the Blue Wonder stuff. At the very least, keep the slide well lubed, that seems to have worked for most.