Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had limited experience using Trijicon night sights on a Sig229 and would like to put something like that on my XD40 SC. Just wondering the differnce between Night Sights and Fiber Optic Sights( if any.) Also would like to get opinions on the Pros and Cons of both. I know the first question people ask is "What do you plan on using these for". The answer is range shooting,home defense and of coures the occasional all out Zombie attack.:shock: Any opinions and/or experience with these sights would be greatly appriciated. Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
179 Posts
I had the trijicon nightsites on my xd. I didnt really like them. The dots were kinda hard to see for me during the day.

If i were to get sites again ide prolly get Tru-glo fiber optic nightsites instead, or jsut plain fiber optics.

·
Registered
463 Posts
The difference to my understanding is:

Night Sights =

Ameriglo / Trijicon and the like are sites that contain small vials of tritium (a radio active gas I believe). Tritium glows in the dark. IMO this is best for home defense. These sights should basically perform exactly like the stock white dot sights during the day but allow you to see them in the dark. Some people feel that these don't glow brightly enough, however; if they were any brighter an intruder could potentially see the glow of these sights even though the viewwable dots are facing you not the target. People also judge the brightness of these sights by turning the lights out in a room and expecting them to glow like a flashlight. Try it again when you hear a noise in your house in the middle of the night and you get up to check it out after having been asleep. You will find that these things are very very bright when it is dark and your eyes are fully adjusted to the lack of light. They are no better for range situations than your stock sights.

Fiber Optic =