Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought an XD9 Tactical, so I'm new to XDs and this site. I have a feeling that I'll think that my question will probobly be a dumb one once I know the answer...but here goes:

I haven't shot it yet or field stripped it. I was reading the instructions and it said under the disassembly section that the 5" models don't have a captive recoil system, so be careful when disassembly and reassembly??? What does that mean? Whats the difference between the 4" and 5" models, that I should be paying additional attention to? Any info will be helpful.

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Welcome aboard. What that means is that the tactical model has a guide rod and spring. They are two individual pieces. The sub compact and service models have a one piece spring/rod assembly. The assembly doesn't have a lot of tension on it and can be inserted or removed without danger of it flying across the room if you slip. The separate rod and spring can go zooming across the room if you accidentally slip while taking down or putting back together. Don's Guide Rod, that you will hear about on the forum, is a two piece replacement for the assembly for the service model.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Service recoil and spring assembly.
</img>

Tactical two piece recoil rod and spring.

</img>

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
I can see it. I even tried from my work computer and home my home computer to make sure the pics would show up. First time using this yahoo/sbc photo album.

Can anybody else see them?

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Sorry should have asked.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks for the help. I never knew that there was a such thing as a one-piece. My other gun is also two pieces, so I just assumed they were all like that. Thanks again. Cool site!

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Thanks, good to know. :)

·
Registered
200 Posts