Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just on a different forum, and a guy on there totally tore down his pistol - I mean little springs and screws and rods everywhere. Is that something that I should be doing periodically on my XDm's? And if so, where would I find instructions on how to do that?

I don't have any problem field striping my guns - in fact, I find cleaning them very relaxing. But looking at the mess he had in front of him scares me to death - I'm afraid I wouldn't ever be able to put it back together, at least not in a way that would allow the gun to ever shoot again!

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
All of this is just my OPINION. I'm no expert or a gunsmith. So saying that. No, it's not something that should be needed. The only thing I would do once and a while would be, pull the back plate that holds the striker assem. together, off. YouTube has some good videos to help you do this. Do a field strip and pull the striker, striker spring and guide out, run some clp or something lightly down into the area where the striker is. But make sure that it is mostly dry when you put things back together. Some people remove the striker retaining pin out with a punch and a few more parts will come out with doing that. Like I said, there are some great videos on YouTube. If I was at home, I'd post them for you.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Northern Gal - welcome, and what you are referring to is a "detail strip" where no two pieces of metal / plastic are touching.

The short answer is "no", you don't need to detail strip your gun to clean it. Field stripping is just fine. In fact, if you're not careful, some of those little springs can go flying to places unknown if you're not careful, rendering your gun into a blunt force trauma tool until replacement springs can be located.