Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I'm a newbie when it comes to handguns, I've shot them before but have never owned one for myself; that all changed today. I purchased my first, a XD M 40. I did a bit of research and I really liked the reviews on this particular handgun. It's primary role will be home security, but since it's also my first, there will be a good deal of range time involed as well. Anyway, I am extremely pleased with the 40 so far and I expect I'll continue to be. As far as being a newbie, any advice or tips you are willing to offer up, I'm willing to listen. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

As far as advice goes, in my personal opinion, no matter how many guns you get (and yes, you will buy more), if you have a primary self-defense pistol, then that should be the gun that sees the most range time.

·
Premium Member
1,089 Posts
Well, I'm a newbie when it comes to handguns, I've shot them before but have never owned one for myself; that all changed today. I purchased my first, a XD M 40. I did a bit of research and I really liked the reviews on this particular handgun. It's primary role will be home security, but since it's also my first, there will be a good deal of range time involed as well. Anyway, I am extremely pleased with the 40 so far and I expect I'll continue to be. As far as being a newbie, any advice or tips you are willing to offer up, I'm willing to listen. Thanks in advance.
Merry Christmas to you!

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Congrats on the (M)!!! I second the advice that's been given so far, to add my $.02 I have 3 things; shoot, shoot, oh yeah and shoot!!! Finally, welcome to the forum!!!

·
Premium Member
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·