Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. Just signed up for the site, and about to make a purchase from bud's gun shop later tonight/tomorrow. I'm completely new to guns but I'm doing my research before I get it in my hands.

This is going to be my first gun. I'll be getting a XDM compact 3.8 9mm. I've shot 5-6 different guns over the past few weeks and that one was by far my favorite. Felt great in my hand, shot great, I was really impressed. And bud's seems to have a great price on it at $550, I've been to 6-7 gun shops around me and everywhere is priced $650-750

I have a question though. I figured I'd buy some eye/ear protection from bud's also. How much of an advantage is the electronic ear protection? I didn't want to get a super expensive pair, but I was looking at these.

HTU VBSR0061 SR112 ELEC STERO MUFF GR $26.17

I read that when a shot goes off it "mutes" the muffs, but my question is if I'm standing there talking to someone and there are 3 other people on the range shooting, are the muffs going to keep muting themselves so that I can't hear the person I'm talking to? I'm not sure if I should get a cheap pair of the electronic muffs or just a standard pair of normal ear muffs.

·
Registered
3,765 Posts
Hello and welcome from Northern California!

·
Registered
1,361 Posts
Welcome. I use standard muffs with the highest rating I could find locally. Works great for me at the indoor range I frequent. Have heard positive things about the electronic versions but I haven't tried them myself. Good luck!

·
Registered
22,574 Posts
Welcome to the fourm from Louisiana. I uwe the standard muffs also at the indoor range.

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Welcome from Iowa
Both my wife and I have the electronic sets. They work great

·
Premium Member
127,415 Posts
Welcome from Ohio. As a firearms instructor I believe that electronics muffs are definitely worth the cost.

·
Registered
340 Posts