Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK reloading gods,

I've only been actively rolling for about a month now using a Lee Classic Turret, and I'm already thinking about getting a manually-indexing progressive press, specifically the RCBS Pro 2000. I find myself going to the range at least once a week, and I'd like to make more ammo in less time.

However, I'm still a newbie who doesn't know what he doesn't know, despite whatever success I've had so far. So, I'm looking for some sage advice to make sure I'm not biting off more than I can chew given my new-found (over?!) enthusiasm for this great hobby, hence the question in the title of this thread. Thoughts? :mrgreen:

·
Registered
12,197 Posts
I like the 2000, basically a 5 stn copy of the Dillon 550b. I am just not a fan of the priming strips.
For me, when I started competing in gun games, I needed to spend less time reloading. When I was going thru 600rds of 45colt a week, time to find a Faster method. That was my first 550.
Buy what ever press you like, run it as an inverted turret, one round at a time thru all the stations. When you feel you've got everything running right, then start using it as a progressive. I now also run a 650 w/ case feeder. From a pile of components to 700 rds in 1 hour. The 550 & RCBS 2000 will be around 450, plenty fast enough. You'll wonder why you waited so long.

·
Registered
3,854 Posts
You're gonna be hard put to improve on the Lee Classic unless you go Dillon with accompanying cost. The Classic can run in automatic advance mode.

·
Registered
12,197 Posts
You're gonna be hard put to improve on the Lee Classic unless you go Dillon with accompanying cost. The Classic can run in automatic advance mode.