Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just found the XDM Forum recently, and am getting used to my new Springfield XDM 5.25 9 mm DuoTone. Spent a day just getting familiar with it, including learning how to load the Magazine. Pretty easy once I was able to load the first one.

I will be headed out to the range for the first time early in the next week. This is my first time with a semiautomatic, so that should be interesting. My only other experience with a handgun is with a revolver.

Lots of useful information in the Forum, I have enjoyed reading new and older posts over the past two days.

Phil
Keller TX

·
Premium Member
128,172 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Phil!

·
Registered
3,552 Posts
Welcome from New Jersey

·
Registered
1,328 Posts
Welcome from Georgia and congrats on a great gun. Let us know how you do at the range.

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
I also started with a revolver and progressed to an auto, but they are a different animal! You have a lot more to think about if/when something goes a-muck, and it will at some point. The XDm platform is an excellent pistol and you'll have many hours of fun. Might even want to try some pistol classes when your more comfortable with it. Congrats and have fun here on the forum too...

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for the welcomes, and suggestions re classes. That is definitely in the plans but I do want to become more familiar with the basics of the XDM first.

The Forum has already been helpful as I have become more familiar with the slide lock lever than I ever thought I would be. With the mag in place (empty) it is very difficult to release, but much less so when the mag is removed. I would have worried about that all weekend if I hadn't read the Forum thread. Between the XDTalk Forum and Youtube -- maybe I didn't really need to spend the money on the pistol/ Just kidding!