Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm a new XD owner; I recently purchased a 4" service model in 9mm. I'm also new to shooting, having begun back in April with a Ruger MkIII 22/45 handgun and a Ruger 10/22 carbine. The XD is my first centerfire. I know, I know: A 29 year old n00b? I'm a late bloomer, what can I say?

Today, I took the XD to the range for the first time. I put 200 rounds of Reminton UMC through it, and noted a few problems. Being new to shooting and the XD, I assume they're user-error induced, but I wanted to follow up with other owners.

First, the slide caught about eight spent casings as they ejected, forcing me to clear the slide before continuing to fire. Second, on four occassions the rounds failed to feed correctly, requiring me to eject the cartridge. Third, most of the time the slide failed to lock back after the last round in the clip was fired. Fourth, I found that the clips were extremely difficult to feed rounds into beginning around the eighth one, to the point that by round ten, my thumbs were wicked sore.

Are any of these normal? I didn't clean the gun before going to the range, so I imagine that might have something to do with problems one and two.

Thanks for the feedback.

-James

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
No, none of that is normal. Clean it, oil it, take it back and shoot it again. Make sure you keep that thumb off the slide when you shoot. If it still fails, it is time to go back to Springfield. :(

·
Registered
406 Posts
Dont worry about it bud this things seem to get better the more you feed them. I would clean it with some rem oil or something, and about the mags its just that way mine are just now getting loose after around 1000 rd's so keep fireing away bud. By the way what kind of ammo were you using? I use WWB and she loves it eats up every one of them. Let me know there are alot of great guys here that could help you out. Welcome to the XD board.

·