Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this forum and i want to thank all of the posters for all the great info. I wanted to share my story of my recently purchased XD .45 for duty carry. I have been a SWAT operator for almost two years now and have carried my privately owned Glock 21 for the past thirteen years, I have always sworn by Glock pistols and never thought I'd really trust another pistol for duty. About a year ago i shot a fellow officers XD .45, i was Very impressed with the whole package, but still i hesitated, brand loyalty really had a hold on me. Since my beginning on SWAT i have struggled with the qualification course of fire, mostly due to the size of the G21. It didn't affect me as much with our normal dept range shoots, mostly because the times are more generous, giving me time to handle the big pistol better. After a frustrating day at the SWAT range, the range master talked me into getting an XD.....long story short, first time firing the pistol, I shot better and faster than i ever have before, it was like going from a dump truck to a Ferrari, but not sacrificing reliability. My XD is now at my side every night on patrol and on my leg rig in the SWAT bus, I still have a great affection for Gaston's pistol, but she can retire to the nightstand from now on.

Thanks for all the info!

·
Premium Member
20,508 Posts
Glad to see you came to your sense and got an XD, i bet you wish you made the change awhile ago.

·
Premium Member
2,303 Posts
First of all, welcome to the forum!

Second of all, I have a question. If you use your personal firearm during duty, do they still restrict you on what you can do to it? For example, would be be free to change out the sights or have trigger-work done on it? I'm just curious.

·
Premium Member
3,006 Posts