Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, on a new gun, is there any reason to use a brass brush or should I stick with plastic unless I start neglecting it?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
5,752 Posts
If you mean inside the barrel, brass won't hurt it at all.

·
Registered
59 Posts
To the 'WTF' from above
Think of putting a christmass tree through a barrel tip first, it goes through no problem. Then pull it back out, it get stuck (or binds)

I am looking for in-depth cleaning and lube info, more than whats in the manual. Ive spent alot of time searching on this site and others to no avail
Any info would be appreciated

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I bought a cleaning kit from Otis and it came with a nice video (mpg) of how to properly clean a revolver, semi auto pistoli, assault rifle, hunting rifle and shot gun. Kit for all hand gun calibers, rifle calibers, shot guns, with three length of cables for $50; it was a gun show special.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
You are having problem finding cleaning info on this site? LOL.. come on man.. there is a thread posted at least once a week on cleaning.. and lots of patient replies..

How clean do you want it.. Are you talking about a simple take down, or a detail cleaning?

A brass bore brush, 9mm (in my case) brass jag, and some lint free patches are all you need.. well.. you do need some solvent and oil as well.. and that is all you need.. well.. you do need a cloth to keep your work area clean (I use old baby diapers.. I have a bunch of them!) And q-tips are helpful, for getting into those tight spaces.

As for solvents.. People have their preferences.. Some like CLP, others Hobbes #9, etc... I use Blue Wonder Gel.. It cleans really well, leaves no residue, and is pretty inexpensive. (You can get a 1 oz. tube for free by visiting the site.. free is a very good price!) Oil, I use the Blue Wonder Disotec.. very good product.