Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You guys have a great forum! This is probably a really stupid question to you experienced shooters. I purchased a new XD 9 service model. I have a few questions about it. When I shoot it freehand I seem to hit very low and when I shoot from a rest I still hit low. I borrowed a rest from a buddy where I can clamp my gun in and i was right on target that time. I have over 300 rounds of WWB through it and I still shoot like this. I'm new to autos but I own several revolvers and never had this problem before. Do most autos shoot different than revolvers? Is there any shooting techniques I can try to apply that will help? I bought 1500 rounds of WWB so I have plenty of practice ammo. Any suggestions would help a lot, the more the better! thanks

joey

·
Registered
122 Posts
Hey, I have the same gun and it sounds like you lower the barrel while pulling the trigger. This is common and you can see this when you hold out your arm and then squeeze your shooting hand into a fist. You may notice a slight angle downward at the wrist. I would ease up on my grip ever so slightly and pull straight back on that trigger. Sounds like you have experience so I might not be offering anything new but once you eliminate the gun as the source of the problem then you can always adjust the human element.
I've seen folks (self included) anticipate the recoil and tighten the grip too much upon pulling the trigger thus lowering the shot.

Good luck!

·
Registered
533 Posts
try pulling the trigger with the tip of the trigger finger.

I learned to shoot revolvers with the trigger near the first nuckle, if you are doing this you may be pulling the muzzel down...

just a thought,

keep us updated...

·
Registered
8,970 Posts