Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. Just an update and a question. Took delivery on my new XD-40SC last Friday and shot it yesterday. I'm very impressed. It shoots dead on and the gun is very controlable. I did have 3 jams and two fail to fire. But after the last of the 50 rounds everything was going smoothly. The ammo was Remington 165gr FMJFP. I have a Colt Combat Comander 4" with a Bar-Sto barrel that shoots good groups but always to the right. This XD shoots right on and tight.
Now for the question! Any commments on Dura Cote. I'm considering doing my slide so I don't have to worry about rust. I plan sending my slide back to XD-HS2000 to have my Trijicon Sights installed and thought I might as well have the Dura Cote put on. But I'd like to know your experiences with it. Pros and Cons. Also, what's you thought on Fist holsters. I love their 17A IWB and Cantable. Any experiences with ordering online at the Fist Web Site.Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
I still have my original finish on my service XD. Personally, I would recommend giving the finish a chance and see if it rusts or not. It will be plainly obvious if you have a good finish or not. I've had my gun for close to a year now and not a single hint of rust. It scratches easily though.
As far as Fist holsters go, I have one and I love it. I have the IWB w/ the clip on one that I bought for about $35 new. I like it more than my $60-70 dollar paddle holster and IWB comp tac. They custom make everything so it might take a while. Mine took close to a month to get from ordering to my doorstep.
The wait was worth it though. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·