Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I'm new to handguns, but just picked up a new XD40. I have yet to make it to the range and wanted to know if there is anything I should know or do before I go ...

$IMG_20110717_112128.jpg

·
Registered
232 Posts
Congrats on the new pistol and Welcome to the forum. Have you ever been shooting before with someone that has experience? If not, then I would take a few lessons with an instructor so that you get into good habits and avoid the bad ones.

Nothing you need to know really. I would usually field strip the gun and clean it, although I just bought an XD-45 that had almost no grease or gunk inside. Yours might be clean also, but I would check. Even if it's clean I would then lube it some.

Good luck and stay safe.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Congrats on the new pistol and Welcome to the forum. Have you ever been shooting before with someone that has experience? If not, then I would take a few lessons with an instructor so that you get into good habits and avoid the bad ones.
Thanks, and I'm AD Army, so I have been shooting for years, just not too familiar with handguns. I've only ever fired the Beretta M9 before.

Nothing you need to know really. I would usually field strip the gun and clean it, although I just bought an XD-45 that had almost no grease or gunk inside. Yours might be clean also, but I would check. Even if it's clean I would then lube it some.
Yeah, a quick cleaning is on the list of stuff to do before heading to the range, which I hope I can find time for this week.

·
Premium Member
3,448 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Colorado

Am sure you'll find the XD is a good firearm

·
Registered
464 Posts
Welcome..enjoy they are great guns. Not sure about the 40, but my 9 will shoot anything i put in it..as of today 1600+ not one malfunction.

·
Registered
1,885 Posts