Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well folks I received my CHL this past thursday, I'm going back and forward on the whole should I try to conceal my xd9 service model or up grade to a Sub-compact xd9. I'm 5'11" 230lbs I tried to conceal my xd9 with an owb holster from white hat but the grip of the gun prints pretty good, I havent purchased an iwb holster yet since Im new to this so should I buy an iwb holster n conceal my xd9 or buy a subcompact n an iwb n conceal it.

(Dont do xds lower round count is no bueno)

·
Registered
3,851 Posts
Depending on how you dress. I'm substantially smaller than you and I can conceal a full size 1911. Key is a quality holster, a quality gun belt, and proper attire.

So possible? Absolutely! Easier than a sub compact? Probably not.

·
Premium Member
1,574 Posts
Before you spend good $$ on a XD9 sub-compact (or any other handgun), be sure to beg, borrow, or rent one. A friend of mine who was all pumped up to get the XDs45 abruptly changed his mind after shooting mine.....when he quickly determined he did not like it. Saved him some money and a headache for sure.

·
Registered
8,632 Posts
I personally would go with a compact/subcompact. I'm 6'0 210 and I can't conceal a full sized handgun for the life of me. In the winter with sweatshirts and button downs I can easily hide my Glock 23, but in the summer I stick with a smaller gun.

·
Registered
1,328 Posts
Before you spend good $$ on a XD9 sub-compact (or any other handgun), be sure to beg, borrow, or rent one. A friend of mine who was all pumped up to get the XDs45 abruptly changed his mind after shooting mine.....when he quickly determined he did not like it. Saved him some money and a headache for sure.
That would be a good idea. A smaller gun is going to be easier to conceal but you need to be able to shoot it well and have confidence in it.