Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to assault rifles and am looking for a very reliable one. One that is heavy duty and can take a beating, I will be using it for hog hunting and I want it to be a .223. Any preferences? What would you buy?

·
Registered
5,759 Posts
Assault rifle?

What is that?

6.8 SPC-II is better at dropping hogs than .223.

Check out the hunting section at 68forum for lots of testimonials and pics.
http://68forums.com/forums/forum.php

But a little bit of friendly advice, unless you're Adolph Hitler, Bill Clinton, Senator McCarthy, Senator Pelosi, or Jim/Sarah Brady, they're not called assault rifles.

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
First, Your going to need your class III license to get an assault rifle.

Second, asking that question is like going to a truck forum and asking what the best brand is. It is largley opinion based.

Third, you can spend anywhere from about $700 on up to several thousands on a custom build. We are going to have to know what kind of budget your on.

Fourth, see above post. You could also look at something in .308.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ar, assault rifle, gun, Idc, I didn't join the forum to learn the politically correct name of them, I want to learn about them, and I know a 6.8 drops hogs better, but I would rather the 5.56 or .223, it's just preference.

·
Registered
5,759 Posts
If you're going to learn about them, then no better time than the present.

First lesson, AR isn't short for Assault Rifle. It's an abbreviation of Armalite Rifle. After the company that designed it back in the 50's.

Maybe I shouldn't be so sensitive about it, but having done everything in my power writing letters to Senators and fighting tooth and nail to protect the ability to own these type of scary guns for longer than some of you have even been alive, it has become second nature to do so.