Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, just bought a brand new Remington 700 ADL Varmint. Its chambered in .308 and I would like to modify it using the M24 sniper rifle as a model. I need help finding some ideas from my friends here at this forum. I am new to rifles like this, and want to get into long range shooting. Hand me an XDm (or any pistol) or an M4 and I know what I'm doing. I am entirely new to this. I know I need to change the stock and the scope, I just don't know what to. It has the X-Mark Pro trigger system. Here are some pics. Please help me out guys. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
ok, just to gain a better understanding - have you shot the rifle? At what distances and conditions and how did you do?

I have a Remington 700P in .308 Win.

·
Registered
4,325 Posts
If I were you I'd shoot it as is until you know you can shoot it accuratly at whatever ranges you want to shoot it at. Then I'd build it.

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No, I just picked up the rifle today. I don't see a reason that I wouldn't be able to shoot at long ranges (as much as 500 yards, maybe even up to 1000 once I get experienced enough). I have 20/15 vision, and good hand control (in school to be a surgeon).

·
Premium Member
3,565 Posts
No, I just picked up the rifle today. I don't see a reason that I wouldn't be able to shoot at long ranges (as much as 500 yards, maybe even up to 1000 once I get experienced enough). I have 20/15 vision, and good hand control (in school to be a surgeon).
I've taken my 700 to 1018 yards once and shoot at 500 every couple of months. It took a lot of rounds, and thousands of dry fires after learning the fundamentals, to be able to "accurately" shoot at 500.

If I were you I'd shoot it as is until you know you can shoot it accuratly at whatever ranges you want to shoot it at. Then I'd build it.