Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought an XD-9mm and put 500 rounds of Winchester 115grain range ammo through it without any problems. Today, I used the Remington UMC 9mm ammo from Gander Mountain (yellow box of 250 rounds you see everywhere) and used all 250 rounds. However today I had several problems and I'm wondering if it's this ammo. The slide would not always open when the clip was done, about 50-75 times the emtpy case would get jammed in the slide, and a few times the gun just wouldn't fire a round. Do you think it's this ammo or any other thoughts? This is only the 5 o5 6th time I've ever shot in my life, but the first time I've had problems like this. Appreciate any help to the new guy!!!

·
Premium Member
1,795 Posts
I am far from an expert but if you try other brands for a comparison you might be able to tell if it is the gun or the ammo. I have only shot Blazer Brass in my sub compact and there have been no issues such as yours in 300 rds down range. I would have tried the WWB or UMC but the BB is cheaper where I live. Slide not locking back when the mag (someone will surely be along shortly to tell you that clip are for loading mags) is empty does sound like a gun problem to me though.

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
The slide not locking back could be operator error...Check your hand position and make sure you are not contacting the slide release when you grip the weapon. This has been a problem with other shooters.
Not firing correctly check your grip again and make sure you are not interfeing with the slide itself and stopping it from going fully into battery and keep a firm grip on the grip safety.
Did you clean the gun before your first range trip?
Hope this helps.

·
Registered
194 Posts