Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just signed up. I've been looking at this site for awhile and gathering info. This is a great site with lots of helpful folks. I've learned a lot already.

I've been thinking about a Taurus Mill Pro in 40 or 45 cal. or the XD 40 Sub compact. After looking at many different sources, I'm pretty well settled on the XD. I have yet to see either gun in person. I live in a small town in north central Wyoming so you can't just go to the local gun store and find what you're looking for.

I'm just getting back into shooting after a many-year lay off. My first handgun (bought in 1969 and which I still own) is a Ruger 44 mag flat top with the 6 1/2" barrel. I shot my first deer with this handgun. I used to have a blast casting bullets and reloading for this gun. My other handgun is a Browning Medalist .22 pistol bought in the early 70's.

I have very little experience with centerfire pistols. In the past couple of months, I've shot a 40 cal. Glock and a 45 cal S&W99. The Glock shot better for me than the Smith but the trigger guard on the Glock was hard on the knuckle on my middle finger. The trigger on the Smith was pretty poor.

For the questions: I can have my local dealer order the XD compact for $445. I've seen other prices on the net cheaper. Can anyone recommend a good source that would have a cheaper price? There's a local guy with a FFL that will take delivery for me. I've read a little about rust on the slide. Is this just on the blued slides? If I buy the "Bi tone" is that a stainless steel slide and would this solve the rust problem?

Thanks,

WyoBob

·
Registered
2,534 Posts