Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to the range yesterday and had a problem w/ my slide not opening up when the mag was empty. I know there are threads on here dealing w/ that, but don't have a clue what to search to find them. I don't want to waste anyone's time with typing out information that is already here, so can someone direct me in the right direction to search? Thanks!

·
21,879 Posts
You had your finger on the slide release.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm not saying that having a finger on the slide release isn't a possiblity because I'm still new to this, so anything is possible! However, could it be anything else? I've put 1200+ rounds through this gun (XDm 9mm) without this ever happening before, and I don't think my grip was any different yesterday than the last 4 or 5 times I've been to the range.

·
Registered
340 Posts
Next time you go to the range, fire the last shot of the magazine left handed to make sure no fingers are around the slide release. See if it still happens

·
Registered
7,507 Posts
I'm not saying that having a finger on the slide release isn't a possiblity because I'm still new to this, so anything is possible! However, could it be anything else? I've put 1200+ rounds through this gun (XDm 9mm) without this ever happening before, and I don't think my grip was any different yesterday than the last 4 or 5 times I've been to the range.

Take it apart. Is anything broken? No? Then it's your finger or thumb riding the top of the slide release. 99.9999999999999999999999999% sure. The only possibility that leaps to mind is the bent wire spring that holds the slide release lever up (and keeps the take down lever in place) could be broken. You would feel a lack of spring pressure.