Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As stated in a previous thread, albeit quite a few months ago, I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster that was made in the early 80's. It has a 30" barrel and a fixed full choke. I overlooked these things because it was in pristine condition and I got it for just over $300.

I'm pretty sure I am just going to sell it and buy a brand new Wingmaster, but I have a few concerns I was hoping you scattergun aficionados could spout off about.

1) The blueing. The blueing of my 870 seems to be a little better looking than the new ones. Anyone else feel this way? This is not a major issue, just wondering if I was the only one.

2) The overall fit and finish. I have done a full disassembly and cleaned everything out, and the fit and finish is absolutely great. The action is exceedingly smooth, obviously in part to the use of it, but still. I have heard that the new 870's coming off the line were a little bit lacking in the quality control department. Is this true? Can I expect to get a gun that is just as good as the old ones, or are they slipping up?

3) The recoil pad on mine is much nicer than the ones on the new one. I will post a picture If I remember later. The ones that come stock on the new wingmasters just aren't nearly as comfortable or effective as this one, which I believe came with it as I have seen others on old wingmasters, but cannot confirm. Are these readily replaceable?

Thanks for the input in advance guys.

·
Premium Member
15,438 Posts
As stated in a previous thread, albeit quite a few months ago, I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster that was made in the early 80's. It has a 30" barrel and a fixed full choke. I overlooked these things because it was in pristine condition and I got it for just over $300.