Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI all im new to the forum and am interested in getting an XD Service model. I wanted some advice on this gun. I was wondering if i should get it regularly or the ported on. Which one would be better and what would be the advantages. Also what calibre do you guys think i should get. Should i go 357 Sig. or 40. Cal. Thanks for your help

·
Registered
3,742 Posts
Welcome to XD Land! :twisted:

Get the .40 bro, the ammo is cheaper and easier to find. Plus, for $150 you can get at 357 Sig Barrel from PistolGear.com and VIOLA!! Two pistols in one!

Ports are good for target shooting and fun, but if you plan to carry they may not be a good idea.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why would a Ported model not be a good idea if you want to carry it. Sorry for the question but im new to this and want as much info as possible. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,183 Posts
If you are forced to fire it at night or in extreme low light conditions, the flash from the ported barrel will cause temporary night blindness. Also, in close combat situations, the gun will most likely be fired close to your body. Metal fragments tend to come out of the porting and probably wouldn't feel good in your skin. I would get a regular .40, and buy for it a ported 9mm barrel (aftermarket barrels are made that let you chamber different rounds in certian XDs). You can get the aftermarket barrel ported, and it will extend past the slide with porting. I hope to have one someday! By the way, Welcome to the forum!

·
Banned
1,546 Posts
40 for plinking, .357 sig for defense.

If I had the funds to do it over, I personally would buy the stock .357 sig, and then get a aftermarket 40 cal barrel for the plinkin at the range

Just me. Just seems with my 1yr on the board that the .357 sig guns have a tad better reliability. It is no stopping you from doing it the other way around, your personal preference I guess.