Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, I have an 870 wingmaster from the early 80's. It is beautiful, but it has a 33 inch fixed full choke barrel. Not what I want To have on it, but I got a good deal on it so I overlooked it.

Will try to attach pics.

Is it possible for a good gunsmith to cut 5 inches off the barrel and thread the end of it for Remington choke tubes? Or is there not enough metal?

Replacement barrels are 250$, so if this doesn't work I may sell it and just buy a new express. *sigh*.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
8,307 Posts
Buy a new barrel and sell me your old one.
I'll give you $125.

·
Registered
29,827 Posts
Likely they can.

Chop 'er up.

I know when I had my Wingmaster chopped down for a riot gun, it cost me $30 to have the barrel chopped from 30" to 18.25, and a new bead added.

·
Registered
5,287 Posts
Looks like a 30" barrel to me. :confused: IMO, a Wingmaster deserves a nice new barrel. :) Vented and with Remchoke of course. ;)

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks like a 30" barrel to me. :confused: IMO, a Wingmaster deserves a nice new barrel. :) Vented and with Remchoke of course. ;)
I really would like to, but I can't justify $250 for it.

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Likely they can.

Chop 'er up.

I know when I had my Wingmaster chopped down for a riot gun, it cost me $30 to have the barrel chopped from 30" to 18.25, and a new bead added.
Cuda, is this something that the average smith can do, or should I send it off to a specialized smith?

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You are correct on it being a 30 inch. I was mistaken.

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·

·
Registered
29,827 Posts
I've never had any smith work done. What should this run me?
Like I mentioned, having my barrel chopped and a new bead added ran $30, as I recall.