Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a total Newb to guns. Ive shot a few over the years, but never owned one. I was at Cabelas, and the salesman got me sold on a XD. Now the help I need is which one between the 9mm service or Sub compact. I decided on a 9mm for the cheap ammo and not too hard for my wife to shoot.

What are the pros and cons between the two models. THe XD will be for the home. I am not sure if I would use it as a CCW but who knows, I might down the road. What I want for sure is ease of shooting basically for my wife. I want something that is not intimidating to shoot, controllable recoil for a girl that has never ever shot a gun, and something that will fit in her hand well. I was sold on the subcompact but was reading that the service has less recoil. Is it considerably less? The subcompact looks large in her hands, so I cant imagine what the service would look like. But would the service be easier for her to use? I held both and could get used to both, so that's not a big deal for me. Thanks.

·
Registered
137 Posts
A little off topic..Do you happen to be from Nashville? The reason I ask is there is not many Cabela stores out there.

I carry my XD service quite easily tucked in an IWB. I would choose either gun IMO. I went with the .40 though. I have the capability to buy an EFK 9mm barrel if I want to shoot cheaply, not that I am breaking th bank shooting WWB ammo though. At 14.97 per 100rds it's cheap and the stopping power is still there.

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm from Nebraksa. Yeah, too bad there arent very many cabelas, its an amazing store, i could spend days and a ton of cash in there.

·
Registered
298 Posts