Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new XDS 9 (purchased in April 2014). It is the post recall model. A few weeks ago I shot it for the first time and used Speer Gold Dot 147 gr. I shot about 25 rounds and from what I remember there were no problems.

Yesterday, I took the XDS out for the second time with a 50 round box of Nato ball M882. Around the 40th round and midway through a magazine I pulled the trigger and "click" but no "bang." I removed the round and it had a strike mark on it.

I pulled the trigger again and "click" but no "bang." This round also had a strike mark.

After that, the remainder of the rounds worked.

So, Is the problem the XDS or the ammo? Anyone ever experience this before. I am new to the XDS so is Nato Ball a big no no?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
921 Posts
NATO spec ammo has prety hard primers. I suspect you just got a couple that were particulary hard. Either that or the primers werent werent seated properly.
Did you try to fire the 2 rounds in question again?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
NATO spec ammo has prety hard primers. I suspect you just got a couple that were particulary hard. Either that or the primers werent werent seated properly.
Did you try to fire the 2 rounds in question again?
No, I saved them. Should I try to shoot them? I could do it tomorrow.

But, hopefully I see that you are leaning towards the ammo being the problem?

·
Banned
0 Posts

Shoot them again and see if they go boom.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I will post a report after the range tomorrow.

Also, I just found a thread on "light strikes."

Guys were frustrated that SA was not recognizing this as a problem.

The guys were suggesting that the problem was lube, mag springs, dirty striker channel etc.

My XDS is barely a month old with less than 100 rounds so I am hoping this is not a problem.

·
Registered
1,942 Posts