Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been shooting for over 40 years. I’ve been casting my own bullets and reloading for the better part of 35 years.

I’m loading a hard cast Lee 175gr SWC over 10.5gr of Blue Dot.

At 30 yards, shooting from a bench, I seem to be shooting about 6” low.

I won’t for a second say that it’s not me, as I know most shooting problems are operator error.

I haven’t shot much more than 20 rounds, feeling that I was just wasting time and ammo, without at least asking a few questions.

Has anyone else had this issue? My Ruger GP100 and my CZ Shadow 2 are spot on. Help?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
To the best of my 60 year old yes ability, yes.

A did also shoot 10 rounds standing at about 30 feet with relatively the same effect.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You know, now rethinking, I can’t say for sure. I just line up and shoot, but thinking back, I used to load down a .357 for squirrel hunting, and I always shot with the sights lined up just below the eyes.

After shooting for this long, it just becomes instinct, I don’t think much about it.

·
Registered
29,539 Posts
You know, now rethinking, I can’t say for sure. I just line up and shoot, but thinking back, I used to load down a .357 for squirrel hunting, and I always shot with the sights lined up just below the eyes.

After shooting for this long, it just becomes instinct, I don’t think much about it.
I’d try it again, making sure of your hold next time.

·
Registered
6,997 Posts
At 30 yards, shooting from a bench, I seem to be shooting about 6” low.
You’re using a “combat hold”? That is, the dot on the front sight covers the “bullseye”?
To the best of my 60 year old yes ability, yes.
^ That may be why....

From the factory, XDms are supposed to be regulated as-follows:

Some Owner's Manuals may read instead:

Check your Manual to see what yours is supposed to be.