Discussion Starter #1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Zero 147gr JHP
3.0gr TiteGroup
OAL: 1.150
Primers: Winchester Small Pistol
Brass: Speer, Winchester

My XD has eaten nearly 20,000 of these gems and they have been flawless. Recoil is poofy and the gun runs great.

OS

I used the same load and specs with Hornady fully encapsulated 147gr and they chronoed it at 123.5. Is the bullet the differrence or maybe the crimp or ???
My XD9 5" was brand new and these were the first rounds fired.
Any comments please.
Also, with light loads, should I use the standard spring or #16lb?

At this point, I know the simple answer is increase the load to 3.1. I'm still new to reloading so I'm trying to learn which variable to look at first.

Thanks for your replies..

Joe

·
Premium Member
2,737 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Zero 147gr JHP
3.0gr TiteGroup
OAL: 1.150
Primers: Winchester Small Pistol
Brass: Speer, Winchester

My XD has eaten nearly 20,000 of these gems and they have been flawless. Recoil is poofy and the gun runs great.

OS

I used the same load and specs with Hornady fully encapsulated 147gr and they chronoed it at 123.5. Is the bullet the differrence or maybe the crimp or ???
My XD9 5" was brand new and these were the first rounds fired.
Any comments please.
Also, with light loads, should I use the standard spring or #16lb?

At this point, I know the simple answer is increase the load to 3.1. I'm still new to reloading so I'm trying to learn which variable to look at first.

Thanks for your replies..

Joe
I'm totally lost here. I followed this in the sticky, and didn't get it. Chronoed it at 123.5? What does that mean?

I'm curious about trying loads like these (I'm going to do some research in some manuals before I do), but I'm at a loss to explain what's going on above.

Can anyone shed some light?

·
Registered
10,955 Posts