Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I hit mini slump, I started shooting not so long ago, was progressing very good per my standards, with xdm 5.25 my groups at 5 yards are all in 1-2" size range and never out of 3" circle, at 7 yards it is also okay, but no consistency and anything further is allover the place. I cannot move to the next step.
When I dry fire at home, I attach laser to the rail, set target at 10-15 yards, set cellphone to film target, dry fire fe times and then examine video record to see if laser moves when click sound, and it is very steady, laser dot never moves more than few fractions of an inch, so I was expecting the same accuracy at live fire, but as you can see from text above it aint happening.
Last time, while shooting at the range, i tried to drop mag in between shots to see if I flinch, and, WTF! , pistol drops down significantly, and I cannot seem to be able to stop it, even if I do it slowly and trying to control the situation. It kind of does not make sense because if pistol drops so much down, I am not suppose to have such consistency at 5 yards, so either I jerk the trigger with great consistency so all my shots go lower than they suppose to, or I flinch after the click sound, which I know some of the pros do but Imam sure I am far from that level.
I am looking for advise of how to get rid of the flinch effect, so far per my research I need to try using better hearing protection to isolate myself more from the shot sound. I am going to use a combination of ear plugs and ear muffs. Anything else anybody can recommend?

·
Registered
632 Posts