Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've only shot brass casings and was wondering if the XDM 45 has any problems with shooting metal casings? I can get a fairly good deal on metal casings. Just wanted to check before I go drop money on something that wont shoot.:oops:

·
Registered
786 Posts
brass is a metal do you mean Steel. or Aluminum?

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
There's nothing wrong with steel cased ammo, it shoots fine.

·
Registered
22,575 Posts
IMHO I don't like steel because I can't reload it. Other than that, it shoots just fine.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thank You everyone for your help. Im new to shooting pistols and just wanted to check because I have heard mixed things on steel ammo. Im also new to this forum and its great. So much knowledge and information on these post.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
That seems to be the last resort of anybody putting down steel ammo. It's dirty, how exactly does one measure dirtyness? Is there some chart? I don't find wolf, monarch or any other steel cased ammo any "dirtier" than WWB and personally I don't care if my gun gets dirty when shooting it. If I didn't want it to get dirty I wouldn't shoot it.

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
It's dirty, how exactly does one measure dirtyness?
My measure of dirtiness is derived from the difficulty and time consumed to clean the firearm. I found Wolf left me with a lot more dirty t-shirt patches that the Remington or WWB I've fired.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
I don't time my self when cleaning my gun and it's never taken my but a 10 min to do so.
I had a conversation with gunshop employee once here's how it went.

Him: That ammo is steel cased it will ruin your gun.
Me: No it won't
His Boss: No it won't

Him: The ammo is corrosive.
Me: No it's not.
His Boss: No it's not.

Him: (with a disgusted look on his face) Well it's dirty.
His Boss: :rolleyes: Just rolled his eyes.