Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, just want to know the difference between the Match Barrel and Drop-in barrel? I'm new in guns so I'm still learning a lot of stuff. I have a XD-40 Service model, and still trying to decide if I should put a match barrel or not. thanks a lot

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
a drop in barrel will just drop in and should need little to no fitting...a match grade barrel will need to be fitted to your gun

·
Vendor
776 Posts
A match barrel needs to be fit to your pistol. This gives you the most accuracy out of your pistol and barrel. Assuming that the fitting was done correctly. A "drop in" or semi drop in barrel may still need some slight fitting and should give you a some improvement over stock, depending on the manufacture of the barrel.

welcome to the forum

·
Premium Member
746 Posts
Hey guys, just want to know the difference between the Match Barrel and Drop-in barrel? I'm new in guns so I'm still learning a lot of stuff. I have a XD-40 Service model, and still trying to decide if I should put a match barrel or not. thanks a lot
Welcome to the forum AJM-XD.
I've had similar thoughts/questions and found that the manufacturers are the best ones to answer those questions. I think that it depends on which manufacturer you're dealing with, but just to give you some food for thought; What are your ultimate goals with a "match barrel"? If it is to improve your shooting skills, a trigger job might do as much. And, for much more fun, as well as, longevity of the shooting sport, shooting more bullets (with appropriate training) will improve all skills and pleasures.