Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm interested in the MAGLOC® Tactical Recoil Control Thumb Rest for the XD40. Have any of you tried it? James sells it at his store, and it has caught my interest.

I've never shot a 1911 with a thumb rest. So I have no experience to base a purchase decision on.

See: http://www.xd-hs2000.com/grips.html (at the bottom)

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Everyone says NO to mouse ears.

Tactical? Hahahaha

·
Registered
823 Posts
I have one on my XD9 and enjoy it thoroughly. Thes old hands are used to 1911s and the familiar rest just kind of needs to be there.

I did trim them to a size and shape that suited me better, as a matter of fact I assumed that they started out oversize just so you could customize.

·
Registered
398 Posts
Somebody post a picture of this. I have old 1911 hand too and sometimes the tip of my thumb touches the slide release just enough to prevent it from locking open after the last shot.

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
OK - Now I know that they're referred to affectionately by some as "mouse ears". (There's always something new to learn.:) )

This is an image of the thumb rest. The GripPlus memory groove is a separate product.

·
Registered
9,947 Posts
I wanted to wait until others chimed in but.

Not everyone says no, becuase I do sell them. Most as stated use a high thumb grip ala 1911 and like them enough that no one has ever called me back and returned one.

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
How a modification fits into my concealed carry practice is very important, since the XD40 is my main carry firearm. I just noticed that the thumb rest would interfere with my Comp-Tac holster's sweat guard. Even if it didn't, it might rub in my right side while in the holster. (I wonder if a 1911 safety digs into the ribs with side carry?)