Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been having some trouble with my magazine release,it is very stiff on my 5.25. So being an engineer I decided to take it apart to see what the problem is, thinking there was a burr on one of the components. Well as it turns out there was not and I think it is just how stiff that spring is. And speaking. Of that spring, it is damn near impossible to get back it. I spent nearly 3 hours trying to put it back together. I finally got it, but I don't think I will ever take that apart again.

·
Registered
417 Posts
On both my XDM 5.25 and XDs .45 the release was very tight. After working it for a while and a few hundred rounds later they both have smoothed out just fine.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've put a few thousand rounds through my 40 and it is still too stiff for my liking. Has not appeared to loosen and as it is my comp gun I wouldn't mind it to be a light spring in there. I wonder if anyone sells a lighter spring or it I could just unwind one coil and give that a try.

·
Banned
0 Posts
Been having some trouble with my magazine release,it is very stiff on my 5.25. So being an engineer I decided to take it apart to see what the problem is, thinking there was a burr on one of the components. Well as it turns out there was not and I think it is just how stiff that spring is. And speaking. Of that spring, it is damn near impossible to get back it. I spent nearly 3 hours trying to put it back together. I finally got it, but I don't think I will ever take that apart again.
Three hours is actually pretty quick. It took me 8 hours to get mine back in after duracoating the frame.

·
Registered
128 Posts
My gunsmith said he never removes that spring unless he has to (as I handed my pistol over for him to put it back in after I was unable to).:roll:

·
Registered
9,649 Posts