Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm relatively new to scopes because I only used iron sights as a kid, but I've given in. I know some of you poo poo scopes, but for people like me who can't even see the 100 yard back board it is a necessity.

So, first off, here's the rifle with the scope. I can't remember the model of the scope at the moment but it was only $30 at the LGS. So it's not meant for anything other than a .22lr. It does 4x - 9x magnification as well. The optics have a green hint to them and it has mil dot cross hairs. I'm shooting with just the fore grip bi-pod for support from a seated position.

So, after I finally got it mounted correctly, I started zeroing it in at 50 yds. Now this would have been impossible before since I could barely see the center of the target so my shots would have been all over the target. I've only been able to shoot 25yds reliably with iron sights. You can see I'm working the shots in to the left one click at a time...

After that I moved over to 100yds and was surprised at how much drop there was. So here I am attempting to zero'ing it to 100yds.

So after that I went back to 50 yds and tried to use the mil dots in the scope to sight correctly. That seems to take a nack to learn exactly where to aim. I also seem to be pulling it to the right consistently, or I might have to take in left one more click but I only had 100 rds with me today.

For fun I went back to the 100yd range and set up some of the other things people left behind (cans, clay targets, shot shells) for fun to see if I could hit them now that I could see them. I need a lot more practice! I only had 5 rds left after messing around trying to see why I wasn't hitting anything consistently. It seems that for the most part I have the right vertical alignment. I think my problem is my breathing, or at least pulling the trigger while breathing to get things back to the center.