Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to revolvers but now obsessed with them.
I've bought two in a month and already thinking about getting a j-frame to carry.

Let us discuss speedstrips and speedloaders.

Do I only need these for carry?
Are they useful at the range?

Speedstrips;
Sure look easier to carry...
VERY cheap to purchase.

Speedloaders, HKS or Safariland?
I've read and watched reviews for 2 hours and now I have a headache.
Seems the Safariland are easier to manipulate.
I also feel the rattling of the rounds in an HKS would get on my nerves.
Unfortunately Safariland doesn't make speedloaders for my 7 shot 686+.

But the biggest question is, do I really need any of this stuff if my current revolvers are only range guns?
Or am I just overthinking things like I always do?:roll:

What say you?

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
I think having speedloaders is a must for every revolver you own (except perhaps .22's) so that they can be used for self defense.

They are also helpful for running shooting drills. They aren't necesessery at the range for paper punching, but sure do speed reloading up. I practice reloading as quick as I can whenever I shoot my revolvers.

I have both safariland and hks loaders for my ruger, and find the safariland to be overall better made. I keep three safarilands loaded with 125 grain hollow points just for safe keeping. I have an hks that I keep loaded with heavy soft points for hog carry, and have three empty for range and drill use.

I've never used speed strips, but if they are cheap you might as well buy a few.

·
Registered
29,827 Posts
I'd say-for a range-only gun, they are unnecessary.

For carry...I like speed strips. Speed loaders are bulky. It's the one thing I'm not fond of when it comes to moon clips and .45 carry...but for hunting, I carried speed loaders--they are faster than a strip (at least, for me).